Getting Swiss Residence

NOTE: The information provided below is for guidance purposes only. It does not substitute the legal advice which is recommended to obtain from the Cantonal migration authority responsible for your place of residence, tax adviser and specialized local attorney. All the information provided below is believed to be from reliable sources, however Sequoia Consulting Sagl does not guarantee it’s completeness and accuracy and does not accept any liability for losses that might arise from making use of this information. If nothing is indicated to the contrary, all figures are unaudited. All the content provided herein can be modified or completely deleted at any time without any notification.

Every foreigner wishing to set up residence in Switzerland with or without any gainful activity must obtain a Swiss residence permit.

For gainful activity: the residence permit is necessary from the first day of activity.

Without gainful activity: the residence permit must be obtained after a continuous staying in Switzerland for longer than 90 days (3 months), even for EU/EFTA citizens.

Different conditions apply for EU/EFTA citizens than for non-EU/EFTA citizens:

For EU/EFTA citizens, to receive a Swiss residence permit with or without gainful activity is rather easy process thanks to Agreement on Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) between Switzerland and EU that allows EU citizens to live and work freely within the EU and Switzerland. 

For non-EU/EFTA citizens, the process of obtaining a Swiss residence permit is much more complicated and even impossible in some cases. The possibilities will be described above. . 

Types of Swiss residence permits

EU*/EFTA** nationals Non-EU/EFTA nationals
  • Permit L EU/EFTA (short-term residence permit)
  • Permit B EU/EFTA (residence permit)
  • Permit C EU/EFTA (settlement permit)
  • Permit Ci EU/EFTA (residence permit with gainful employment)
  • Permit G EU/EFTA (cross-border commuter permit)
  • Permit B (temporary residence permit)
  • Permit C (settlement permit)
  • Permit Ci (residence permit with gainful employment)
  • Permit G (cross-border commuter permit)
  • Permit L (short-term residence permit)
  • Permit F (provisionally admitted foreigner)
  • Permit N (permit for asylum seekers)
  • Permit S (people in need of protection)
*The EU-27 comprises the following countries: Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Romania, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Hungary, the United Kingdom and Cyprus.
**EFTA: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland
 

Permit B (temporary residence permit) – residence permit for a one-year stay in Switzerland, which can be renewed (for EU/EFTA nationals: valid for 5 years). With permit B you can buy a residential real estate as your place of domicile.

Permit C (settlement residence permit) – permit granting full residence rights in Switzerland, which is obtained after 5 years of continuous living in Switzerland for EU/EFTA nationals and after 10 years for non-EU/EFTA nationals. With this permit you can live anywhere you like in Switzerland and buy as many properties as you wish.

Permit G (cross-border commuter permit) – this permit is for those who work in Switzerland but live in another country. This is an annual permit that can be renewed each year. It does not grant you any residential rights and cannot be converted to a residential permit. EU/ EFTA nationals with G permit can buy a secondary residence within the area of their work in Switzerland without authorisation.

Permit L (short-term residence permit) – valid for up to one year. If you have a work contract for less than 12 months, the permit lasts as long as the contract. (EU/EFTA nationals don’t need a permit if they are working for less than 3 months.) This permit is often used when coming to Switzerland to look for work or for educational courses.

Exists several ways of getting up residence in Switzerland:

1. Lump-sump taxation as way to get Swiss residence permit without gainful activity

In most Cantons of Switzerland foreigners wishing to immigrate in Switzerland can get Swiss residents through a lump-sum taxation regime (also called as expenditure-based taxation). The general rules are regulated by the Federal Government and are uniform throughout Switzerland, although the assessment basis can vary from Canton to Canton. Less than 0.1% of taxpayers are taxed on a lump-sum basis in Switzerland. The highest number of taxpayers in this category resides in the Canton of Vaud, followed by Valais and Ticino. Cantons where lump-sum taxation has been abolished: Zurich, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Schaffhausen, Basel Landschaft and Basel Stadt. The cantons of Thurgau, St. Gallen, Luzern and Bern are applying stricter rules.

Conditions
Foreigners can benefit from lump-sum taxation if they rae:
  • not Swiss citizens;
  • taking up Swiss residence for the first time or after living outside Switzerland at least 10 years;
  • are not carrying out any gainful activity in Switzerland.

In the case of married spouses, both must meet these conditions. According to current legislation, gainful employment abroad is compatible with asset management in Switzerland.

Duration
Taxpayers can benefit from lump-sum taxation for an unlimited period until the applicable conditions are met. As soon as a taxpayer acquires Swiss nationality or takes up gainful employment or self-employment in Switzerland, his right for lump-sum taxation expires. .
Persons who were taxed on a lump-sum taxation basis prior to January, 1, 2016, can continue to be taxed according to the old legislation for a period maximum of five years. After December 31, 2020,the current legal provisions also apply to these taxpayers.

Assessment Basis
Expenditure-based taxation is a special way of assessing income and wealth that replaces standard taxes on income and wealth. In principle it is calculated on the basis of the total annual living cost during the assessment period expended by the taxpayers in Switzerland and abroad for themselves and their dependents living in Switzerland. However, since January 1, 2016, the following legislative amendments came into force:
  • The worldwide expenses should amount at least seven times the taxpayer’s annual rent or annual deemed rental value (for taxpayers with their own household); for taxpayers without their own household (for example, if the persons lives in a hotel or in a pension): three times the annual full-board price for food and hosing in the place where he is staying.
  • A minimum of CHF 400’000 for direct Federal tax. (Cantons are free to set in their legislation, at their discretion, a minimum cantonal assessment basis.) In canton Ticino for non-EU/EFTA citizens CHF 750’000.
The tax is calculated on the basis of ordinary taxation rates. The assessment basis should be agreed on an individual basis with the tax authority responsible through a tax ruling.

Control Calculation
The law also requires an additional control calculation, according to which the amount of taxes due on the basis of the lump-sum assessment must not be lower than the taxes calculated on the basis of the following gross elements of income and wealth that would be charged to the tax payers according to the ordinary tax regime in Switzerland:
  • Income from real estate assets located in Switzerland;
  • Income of movable property located in Switzerland;
  • Income from copyright, patents, licenses and similar rights undertaken in Switzerland;
  • Income from Swiss bank accounts (interest);
  • Income from Swiss investments (dividends and interest);
  • Income from precious metals in Switzerland;
  • Income from retirement pensions, annuities and other pensions from Swiss sources;
  • Income from foreign sources: income for which the tax payer requires full or partial relief from foreign taxes based on-double taxation agreement between Switzerland and the country where taxes are levied.

Only the following deductions may be made from these gross amounts:
  • The costs of maintaining and managing immovable property located in Switzerland and the costs of the normal management of securities and assets, the income from which is taxed.
  • The deduction of capital debts and debit interest is excluded.


2. Taking up Swiss residence as a self-employed entrepreneur / investor

Non-EU nationals wishing to take up residence in Switzerland as a self-employed must obtain authorization from the cantonal and federal authorities before doing any work on a self-employment basis.
Authorization may be granted if justified on economic grounds, if certain personal, financial and business requirements are met, and if the possible limits on the number of foreign nationals permit. For example, if a person would like to establish a company in Switzerland for nosiness purposes, the company should represent a real economic attractiveness for Canton, be in high-paid industries, create at least 4-10 job positions and provide employment for Swiss nationals. Investment from 1 million CHF is recommended to obtain authorization.

3. Taking up Swiss residence as a specialist/manager

EU nationals are free to travel in Switzerland, live and work here thanks to the agreement between Switzerland and EU about freedom of movement of persons. They don’t need authorization for short-term employment up to 90 days (3 months) within a six-month period. However, it is required to register this employment. For employment lasting longer than 3 months, a residence permit is required before starting to work. EU/EFTA citizens can easily get work residence permit. Work contract and adequate salary are required.
For non-EU/EFTA nationals there are restricted quotas for work permits available, and everyone will need work authorisation to legally work in Switzerland before enter the country. If you are a non-EU/EFTA citizen, you cannot enter Switzerland as a tourist, a visitor or on a business trip, and then start to work. If you want to work in Switzerland, you must leave Switzerland and then apply for work permit from your country. 
Once you have found a job, your potential employer must submit an application for you authorization to work in Switzerland to the cantonal immigration or labour market authorities on your behalf. If the application is accepted, it will be forwarded to the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) for approval. The SEM will then notify the parties and the cantonal authorities of its decision, but this decision does not constitute authorisation to enter Switzerland.
If you require a visa, the cantonal migration authorities will send a visa clearance confirmation to the Swiss Embassy in your home country. You can then apply the entry visa there. Not later than within 14 days from your arrival and before taking up employment, you must register with the communal authorities in the place of you living. Then you will get your residence and work permit that allows you to live and work in Switzerland.
The authorization to work in Switzerland can be granted to non-EU/EFTA citizens under the following requirements:
  • person get a Swiss work permit when there is in a general economic interest;
  • if there are quotas for work permits for foreigners available;
  • if no one with equivalent qualifications can be found in Switzerland or in an EU/EFTA member state.
  • only managers, highly-skilled specialists or other qualified workers can get authorisation. “Qualified workers” are refer to the holders of higher academic education (i.e. from a university or university of applied sciences), specialist with specific technical expertise and several years of professional experience. Integration criteria will also be taken into account when issuing residence permits: ability to adjust to a new occupational and social environment, language skills and age.
  • Adequate salary and working are also taken into consideration.

4. Taking up Swiss residence for persons over 55 years

The variant is intended for persons over 55 years with sufficient financial funds to live in Switzerland without any gainful activity and who have close ties with Switzerland (visit to the country, business activity, business connections and contacts, education, relatives, friends, etc.)

Wohnsitznahme in der Schweiz

Vermerk: Die unterstehenden Angaben dienen lediglich zu Informationszwecken. Sie ersetzen nicht die Rechtsberatung, die Sie bei der für Ihren Wohnort zuständigen kantonalen Migrationsbehörde, einem Steuerberater und einem spezialisierten Anwalt vor Ort einholen sollten. Alle nachstehenden Informationen stammen aus zuverlässigen Quellen. Sequoia Consulting Sagl übernimmt jedoch keine Gewähr für deren Vollständigkeit und Korrektheit und lehnt jegliche Haftung für Verluste ab, die sich aus der Verwendung dieser Informationen ergeben könnten. Wenn nichts anderes angegeben ist, sind alle Zahlen ungeprüft. Alle hier bereitgestellten Inhalte können jederzeit und ohne Vorankündigung geändert oder vollständig gelöscht werden.

Jeder Ausländer, der sich mit oder ohne Erwerbstätigkeit in der Schweiz niederlassen will, muss eine Schweizer Aufenthaltsbewilligung einholen.

Für eine Erwerbstätigkeit: Die Aufenthaltsbewilligung ist ab dem ersten Tag der Tätigkeit erforderlich.

Ohne Erwerbstätigkeit: Die Aufenthaltsbewilligung muss nach einem ununterbrochenen Aufenthalt in der Schweiz von mehr als 90 Tagen (3 Monaten) erteilt werden, auch für EU/EFTA-Bürger.

Für EU/EFTA-Bürger gelten andere Bedingungen als für Nicht-EU/EFTA-Bürger:

Für EU/EFTA-Bürger ist die Erteilung einer Schweizer Aufenthaltsbewilligung mit oder ohne Erwerbstätigkeit dank des Freizügigkeitsabkommens zwischen der Schweiz und der EU, das EU-Bürgern das freie Leben und Arbeiten in der EU und der Schweiz ermöglicht, relativ einfach Dank Abkommen.

Für Nicht-EU/EFTA-Bürger ist das Verfahren zur Erlangung einer Schweizer Aufenthaltsgenehmigung wesentlich komplizierter und in einigen Fällen sogar unmöglich. Die Möglichkeiten werden oben beschrieben.

Arten von Schweizer Aufenthaltsbewilligungen

EU*/EFTA** Bürger Nicht-EU/EFTA Bürger
  • Ausweis L EU/EFTA: (Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung)
  • Ausweis B EU/EFTA (Aufenthaltsbewilligung)
  • Ausweis C EU/EFTA (Niederlassungsbewilligung)
  • Ausweis Ci EU/EFTA (Aufenthaltsbewilligung mit Erwerbstätigkeit)
  • Ausweis G EU/EFTA (Grenzgängerbewilligung)
  • Ausweis B (befristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis)
  • Ausweis C (Niederlassungsbewilligung)
  • Ausweis Ci (Aufenthaltsbewilligung mit Erwerbstätigkeit)
  • Ausweis G (Grenzgängerbewilligung)
  • Ausweis L (Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung)
  • Ausweis F (Vorläufig aufgenommene Ausländer)
  • Ausweis N (für Asylsuchende)
  • Ausweis S (für Schutzbedürftige)
*EU-27: Belgien, Bulgarien, Dӓnemark, Deutschland, Estland Finnland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Irland, Italien, Kroatien, Lettland, Litauen, Luxemburg, Malta, Niederlande, Österreich, Polen, Portugal, Republik Tschechien, Rumӓnien, Schweden, Slowakei, Slowenien, Spanien, Ungarn, Zypern
**EFTA: Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen, Schweiz


Ausweis B (zeitlich begrenzte Aufenthaltsbewilligung) – Aufenthaltsbewilligung in der Schweiz für 1 Jahr, die erneuerungsbedürftig sein kann (EU/EFTA-Bürgerinnen und -Bürger: Gültigkeitsdauer 5 Jahren). Mit dieser Bewilligung kann man eine Wohnimmobilie als Erstwohnsitz erwerben.

Ausweis C (Niederlassungsbewilligung) – Es sind Niederlassungsrechte in der Schweiz gewӓhrleistet (nach 5 oder 10 Jahren, je nach Staatsangehörigkeit). Mit dieser Genehmigung können Sie wohnen, wo Sie wollen, und so viele Immobilien kaufen, wie Sie wollen.

Ausweis G (Grenzgängerbewilligung) – dieser Ausweis bezeichnet diejenigen, die in der Schweiz arbeiten, aber die sich in einem anderen EU/EFTA Staat aufhalten. Grenzgänger kehren mindestens einmal pro Woche an ihren Hauptwohnsitz im Ausland zurück. Der Ausweis G ist 5 Jahre lang gültig, solange ein Arbeitsvertrag von mindestens einem Jahr besteht. Ausweis L (Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung) – gültig bis 1 Jahr, kann bis 24 Monate (insgesamt) verlӓngert werden.

Ausweis L (kurzfristiger Aufenthaltsbewilligung) - gültig für bis zu einem Jahr. Wenn Sie einen Arbeitsvertrag von weniger als 12 Monaten haben, gilt die Bewilligung so lange wie der Vertrag. (EU-/EFTA-Staatsangehörige benötigen keine Genehmigung, wenn sie weniger als 3 Monate arbeiten). Diese Bewilligung wird häufig verwendet, wenn Sie in die Schweiz kommen, um Arbeit zu suchen oder eine Ausbildung zu absolvieren.

Es gibt mehrere Möglichkeiten, sich in der Schweiz niederzulassen:

1. Pauschalbesteuerung als Weg zu einer Schweizer Aufenthaltsbewilligung ohne Erwerbstätigkeit

In den meisten Kantonen der Schweiz können Ausländerinnen und Ausländer, die in die Schweiz einwandern wollen, über eine Pauschalbesteuerung (auch Aufwandbesteuerung genannt) eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung erhalten. Die allgemeinen Regeln werden vom Bund geregelt und sind in der ganzen Schweiz einheitlich, obwohl die Bemessungsgrundlage von Kanton zu Kanton unterschiedlich sein kann. Weniger als 0,1 % der Steuerpflichtigen werden in der Schweiz pauschal besteuert. Die meisten Steuerpflichtigen dieser Kategorie sind im Kanton Vaud ansässig, gefolgt vom Wallis und dem Tessin. Kantone, in denen die Pauschalbesteuerung abgeschafft wurde: Zürich, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Schaffhausen, Basel Landschaft und Basel Stadt. Die Kantone Thurgau, St. Gallen, Luzern und Bern wenden strengere Regeln an.

Bedingungen
Ausländer können von der Pauschalbesteuerung profitieren, wenn sie:
  • nicht Schweizer Bürger sind;
  • zum ersten Mal in der Schweiz Wohnsitz nehmen oder mindestens 10 Jahre im Ausland gelebt haben;
  • keine Erwerbstätigkeit in der Schweiz ausüben.

Bei verheirateten Ehegatten müssen beide diese Bedingungen erfüllen. Nach der geltenden Gesetzgebung ist eine Erwerbstätigkeit im Ausland mit der Vermögensverwaltung in der Schweiz vereinbar.

Dauer
Die Steuerpflichtigen können die Pauschalbesteuerung zeitlich unbegrenzt in Anspruch nehmen, bis die entsprechenden Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind. Sobald ein Steuerpflichtiger die schweizerische Staatsangehörigkeit erwirbt oder eine abhängige oder selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit in der Schweiz aufnimmt, erlischt sein Recht auf Pauschalbesteuerung.
Personen, die vor dem 1. Januar 2016 pauschal besteuert wurden, können während maximal fünf Jahren weiterhin nach altem Recht besteuert werden. Nach dem 31. Dezember 2020 gelten auch für diese Steuerpflichtigen die aktuellen gesetzlichen Bestimmungen.

Bemessungsgrundlage
Die aufwandsbezogene Besteuerung ist eine besondere Form der Einkommens- und Vermögensbemessung, die an die Stelle der normalen Einkommens- und Vermögensteuer tritt. Sie wird grundsätzlich auf der Grundlage der gesamten jährlichen Lebenshaltungskosten berechnet, die die Steuerpflichtigen im In- und Ausland während der Bemessungsperiode für sich und ihre in der Schweiz lebenden Angehörigen aufwenden. Seit dem 1. Januar 2016 sind jedoch die folgenden Gesetzesänderungen in Kraft getreten:
  • Die weltweiten Aufwendungen müssen mindestens die Jahresmiete oder den Jahresmietwert des Steuerpflichtigen betragen (bei Steuerpflichtigen mit eigenem Haushalt); bei Steuerpflichtigen ohne eigenen Haushalt (z.B. wenn die Personen in einem Hotel oder in einer Pension wohnen): das Dreifache des jährlichen Vollpensionspreises für Essen und Trinken am Aufenthaltsort.
  • Mindestens 400'000 CHF für die direkte Bundessteuer. (Den Kantonen steht es frei, in ihrer Gesetzgebung nach eigenem Ermessen eine kantonale Mindestbemessungsgrundlage festzulegen). Im Kanton Tessin für Nicht-EU/EFTA-Bürger CHF 750'000.
Die Steuer wird auf der Grundlage der ordentlichen Steuersätze berechnet. Die Bemessungsgrundlage ist im Einzelfall mit der zuständigen Steuerbehörde durch ein Steuerruling zu vereinbaren.

Kontrollberechnung
Das Gesetz verlangt zudem eine zusätzliche Kontrollrechnung, wonach der Betrag der aufgrund der Pauschalveranlagung geschuldeten Steuern nicht tiefer sein darf als die Steuern, die aufgrund der folgenden Brutto-Einkommens- und Vermögensbestandteile berechnet werden, welche den Steuerpflichtigen nach dem ordentlichen Steuersystem in der Schweiz belastet würden:
  • Einkünfte aus in der Schweiz gelegenem
  • Immobilienvermögen;
  • Einkünfte aus in der Schweiz gelegenem beweglichem Vermögen;
  • Einkünfte aus Urheberrechten, Patenten, Lizenzen und ähnlichen
  • Rechten, die in der Schweiz erworben wurden;
  • Einkünfte aus Schweizer Bankkonten (Zinsen);
  • Einkünfte aus schweizerischen Kapitalanlagen (Dividenden und Zinsen);
  • Einkünfte aus Edelmetallen in der Schweiz;
  • Einkünfte aus Altersrenten, Renten und anderen Renten aus schweizerischen Quellen;
  • Einkünfte aus ausländischen Quellen: Einkünfte, für die der Steuerpflichtige aufgrund eines Doppelbesteuerungsabkommens zwischen der Schweiz und dem Land, in dem die Steuern erhoben werden, eine vollständige oder teilweise Entlastung von ausländischen Steuern verlangt.

Von diesen Bruttobeträgen können nur die folgenden Abzüge vorgenommen werden:
  • Die Kosten für den Unterhalt und die Verwaltung von in der Schweiz gelegenem unbeweglichem Vermögen sowie die Kosten für die normale Verwaltung von Wertpapieren und Vermögenswerten, deren Erträge besteuert werden.
  • Der Abzug von Kapitalschulden und Schuldzinsen ist ausgeschlossen.


2. Wohnsitznahme in der Schweiz als selbständiger Unternehmer/Investor

Nicht-EU-Bürger, die sich in der Schweiz als Selbstständige niederlassen wollen, müssen vor Aufnahme einer selbstständigen Tätigkeit eine Bewilligung der kantonalen und eidgenössischen Behörden einholen.
Die Bewilligung kann erteilt werden, wenn sie aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen gerechtfertigt ist, wenn bestimmte persönliche, finanzielle und geschäftliche Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind und wenn die möglichen Beschränkungen der Zahl der ausländischen Staatsangehörigen dies zulassen. Möchte eine Person zum Beispiel ein Unternehmen in der Schweiz gründen, muss das Unternehmen eine echte wirtschaftliche Attraktivität für den Kanton darstellen, in einer gut bezahlten Branche tätig sein, mindestens 4-10 Arbeitsplätze schaffen und Schweizerinnen und Schweizer beschäftigen. Eine Investition von 1 Million CHF wird empfohlen, um eine Genehmigung zu erhalten.

3. Wohnsitznahme in der Schweiz als Spezialist/Manager

EU-Bürger können dank des Freizügigkeitsabkommens zwischen der Schweiz und der EU frei in die Schweiz reisen, hier leben und arbeiten. Für eine kurzfristige Beschäftigung von bis zu 90 Tagen (3 Monaten) innerhalb eines Sechsmonatszeitraums benötigen sie keine Genehmigung. Es ist jedoch erforderlich, diese Beschäftigung zu melden. Für eine Beschäftigung, die länger als 3 Monate dauert, ist eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung erforderlich, bevor die Arbeit aufgenommen werden kann. EU/EFTA-Bürger können problemlos eine Arbeitsaufenthaltsgenehmigung erhalten. Ein Arbeitsvertrag und ein angemessenes Gehalt sind erforderlich.
Für Nicht-EU/EFTA-Bürger gibt es begrenzte Kontingente für Arbeitsgenehmigungen, und jeder braucht eine Arbeitsgenehmigung, um legal in der Schweiz arbeiten zu können, bevor er in das Land einreist. Als Nicht-EU/EFTA-Bürger können Sie nicht als Tourist, Besucher oder auf einer Geschäftsreise in die Schweiz einreisen und dann eine Arbeit aufnehmen. Wenn Sie in der Schweiz arbeiten wollen, müssen Sie die Schweiz verlassen und dann in Ihrem Land eine Arbeitsgenehmigung beantragen.
Wenn Sie eine Stelle gefunden haben, muss Ihr potenzieller Arbeitgeber in Ihrem Namen bei der kantonalen Einwanderungs- oder Arbeitsmarktbehörde einen Antrag auf Arbeitsgenehmigung in der Schweiz stellen. Wenn das Gesuch angenommen wird, wird es zur Genehmigung an das Staatssekretariat für Migration (SEM) weitergeleitet. Das SEM teilt den Parteien und den kantonalen Behörden seine Entscheidung mit, die jedoch keine Genehmigung zur Einreise in die Schweiz darstellt.
Falls Sie ein Visum benötigen, senden die kantonalen Migrationsbehörden eine Visumsfreigabebestätigung an die Schweizer Botschaft in Ihrem Heimatland. Dort können Sie dann das Einreisevisum beantragen. Spätestens innerhalb von 14 Tagen nach Ihrer Ankunft und vor Aufnahme einer Erwerbstätigkeit müssen Sie sich bei den Gemeindebehörden Ihres Wohnortes anmelden. Dann erhalten Sie Ihre Aufenthalts- und Arbeitsbewilligung, die es Ihnen erlaubt, in der Schweiz zu leben und zu arbeiten.
Die Bewilligung, in der Schweiz zu arbeiten, kann Nicht-EU/EFTA-Bürgern unter den folgenden Voraussetzungen erteilt werden:
  • Eine Person erhält eine Schweizer Arbeitsbewilligung, wenn ein allgemeines wirtschaftliches Interesse besteht;
  • wenn Kontingente für Arbeitsbewilligungen für Ausländerinnen und Ausländer vorhanden sind;
  • wenn in der Schweiz oder in einem EU/EFTA-Staat niemand mit gleichwertigen Qualifikationen gefunden werden kann.
  • Nur Führungskräfte, hochqualifizierte Spezialisten oder andere qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte können eine Bewilligung erhalten. Als "qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte" gelten Inhaber einer höheren akademischen Ausbildung (z.B. von einer Universität oder Fachhochschule), Spezialisten mit spezifischen Fachkenntnissen und mehrjähriger Berufserfahrung. Bei der Erteilung der Aufenthaltserlaubnis werden auch Integrationskriterien berücksichtigt: Fähigkeit zur Anpassung an ein neues berufliches und soziales Umfeld, Sprachkenntnisse und Alter.
  • Angemessenes Gehalt und Arbeit werden ebenfalls berücksichtigt.

4. Aufnahme eines Aufenthalts in der Schweiz für Personen über 55 Jahre

Diese Variante richtet sich an Personen über 55 Jahre, die über ausreichende finanzielle Mittel verfügen, um ohne Erwerbstätigkeit in der Schweiz zu leben, und die einen engen Bezug zur Schweiz haben (Besuch des Landes, berufliche Tätigkeit, Geschäftsbeziehungen und Kontakte, Ausbildung, Verwandte, Freunde usw.)